A North Carolina conviction for driving while intoxicated is tough on the wallet, and this is true even before you factor in how much more you have to pay for auto insurance with a DWI in your driving history. In addition to fines, you may have to pay towing, impound and bail fees, among other possible DWI-related expenses. Then, once you regain driving privileges, you may have to pay quite a bit more to insure yourself when you drive.
Per Insure.com, North Carolina drivers see more of a post-DWI insurance rate hike than those in any other state in the nation. How much more might you pay for car insurance following a first-time DWI conviction?
Estimating your insurance increase
Nationwide, the average driver who receives a first-time DWI conviction sees his or her annual insurance costs increase by anywhere from 28% to 371%. Unfortunately, North Carolina drivers fall into the 371% category. This means that if your insurance, before your DWI, costs you somewhere around $1,170 annually, after your DWI, it may cost you something like $5,508, increasing by $4,338 each year.
Finding the most reasonable rate available
Sometimes, insurers drop customers from their policies after they get DWIs. Yours may or may not do this, but even if it does not, it may benefit you to ask a few different insurance companies for quotes. Some companies may be more willing to work with you after a DWI conviction than others, and their price quotes may reflect this.
Each insurance company has its own way of setting rates, so consider securing rate quotes from two, three or even more providers before selecting one to cover you.