Driving is a necessity for most North Carolina residents. Many people rely on their personal vehicles to get them to work and to help shuttle their children from school to activities and back to their homes. Without a car, a person may struggle to get their groceries home, to make it to meetings or enjoy road trips to visit the people that they love.
However, driving in the state is considered a privilege, and the ability to drive can be suspended or revoked if a person violates the traffic laws of the state. One of the most commonly broken laws that applies to driving is speeding, which involves operating one’s motor vehicle at a speed that is greater than that posted for the particular road or highway that the vehicle is on.
According to the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, speeding can lead to the revocation of a driver’s license under certain conditions. If a driver operates more than 15 miles per hour over the speed limit and is traveling at least 55 miles per hour, their license could be revoked for 30 days. Additionally, anyone driving more than 80 miles per hour can have their license revoked for the same duration of time.
Subsequent violations of the state’s speeding laws can result in longer license revocations and other serious penalties. Losing one’s license because of an alleged speeding violation can be costly, time consuming and frustrating to the life of a North Carolina resident. They may choose to fight the allegations that have been made against them to protect their driving privileges and maintain their options for driving their own vehicle.