When you got your driver’s license, you probably learned about North Carolina’s traffic laws and the points system that may cause you to lose your license temporarily after accumulating a certain number of points for traffic violations. However, it is also important to note that certain driving behaviors may lead to an immediate suspension of your driver’s license.
According to the North Carolina Driver’s Handbook, there are several different traffic offenses that may result in an immediate suspension of your license. Even speeding may lead to a loss of driving privileges unrelated to the points on your license. The driver’s handbook states that you will lose your license for at least one month if you get convicted of exceeding the speed limit by more than 15 mph while traveling faster than 55 mph. If you get a conviction for the same speeding behavior within one year of the first offense, you may lose your license for 60 days. You may also lose your license for two months if you get convicted of both speeding and driving recklessly at the same time.
There are other circumstances when the DMV may suspend your license outside of the points system. If you accumulate two or more convictions for speeding over 55 mph within a single year, you may lose your license. In some cases, even a single speeding conviction may lead to a suspension if you were driving over 75 mph and speeding. The law prohibits racing with other vehicles, and earning a conviction for prearranged or unplanned racing may cause you to lose your license.