The North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles published a schedule of traffic violations and the subsequent suspension periods, which range from 30 days to permanently.

The state handles other minor infractions with a Driver License Point System, and the accumulation of points will eventually lead to the suspension of your driving privileges.

Suspension for less than one year

If you accumulate 12 points within a 3-year period for violations such as speeding, running a red light or driving without a license, the state will take your license for a period of 60 days to 12 months, depending on the occurrence. Excessive, reckless or two convictions for speeding in one year may also result in a license suspension. Finally, if you injure another driver in an accident because you did not yield the right of way, the DMV may suspend your driving privileges for 90 days and issue a $500 fine.

Suspension for one year

If a law enforcement officer asks you to submit to an alcohol breath or blood test, your refusal will earn you a year-long suspension. Violations that result in death, bodily injury or the attempt to cause harm like manslaughter and vehicular assault can take away your privileges for a year. Other moving offenses that go beyond negligence like leaving the scene of an accident, speeding while evading law enforcement and two convictions for reckless driving have the same suspension consequences. Lastly, you could lose your license for a year by providing false information on your DMV application.

Suspension for three years or more

North Carolina deals with “prearranged racing” offenses harshly. If the police catch you participating, spectating, wagering or enabling a race on the highways, the minimum suspension period is three years. Furthermore, officers will seize your vehicle and potentially auction it to the public if the court convicts you.

The most serious offense of all listed, manslaughter while driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, may result in the permanent suspension of your driver’s license.