The rules of the road exist for the protection of all motorists. The state expects people to follow these rules in exchange for the privilege of using its streets and highways.
Reckless driving in North Carolina is not only a traffic violation; it is a crime punishable by a $1,000 fine and up to 60 days in jail.
A moving violation occurs when the vehicle is in motion. Examples of these include speeding, making an illegal u-turn, and running a red light. An equipment defect such as a broken tail light is an example of a non-moving violation.
Reckless driving is the careless and willful disregard for the safety of others and endangering the lives and property of other drivers. Some examples include erratic lane changes, tailgating, running a red light, racing another car or speeding. Depending on the situation, one moving violation could result in just a traffic citation. However, combining two or more will most likely lead to a reckless driving conviction.
Driver’s license points
After a conviction for a traffic violation, a driver can face not only the type of points issued by insurance companies that lead to an increase in rates. He may also receive driver’s license points. Accumulation of these points can lead to a license suspension. However, with a good driving record, these points drop after a time.
In North Carolina, reckless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor which is more serious than a traffic violation. The consequences of reckless driving incidents leading to property damage, personal injury or death can be even more severe.