TOLL FREE : 888-397-7618

Please note : To protect your safety in response to COVID-19, we are offering our current and potential clients the ability to conduct business via telephone at this time.

Please note : To protect your safety in response to COVID-19, we are offering our current and potential clients the ability to conduct business via telephone at this time.

What are the penalties for speeding in North Carolina?

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. traffic violations
  4.  » What are the penalties for speeding in North Carolina?

What are the penalties for speeding in North Carolina?

On Behalf of | Nov 20, 2020 | traffic violations

Every motorist has broken the speed limit on occasion, whether late for work or in a hurry to get home after a long day. Speed limits are there to protect you and others who share the road, so it is important to abide by them. Failure to observe the speed limit can also land you in legal trouble.

According to the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, there are many penalties that can be assessed for speeding. This includes license suspension, and the duration of the suspension period is based on a few different factors.

30-day suspension

You will lose your driving privileges for 30 days if you are driving more than 15 mph over the posted speed limit while going faster than 55 mph. A 30-day suspension is also applied to drivers going over 80 mph.

60-day suspension

If you have received two speeding violations in the same year, you will lose your license for 60 days. You will also face a 60-day suspension if you are convicted of reckless driving as well as speeding. Reckless driving is defined as operating your vehicle in a manner that shows a lack of care for others. If you are in use of a mobile device when a wreck occurs, you could be cited for reckless driving. Driving too fast for the weather conditions can also lead to a reckless driving charge.

Maximum six-month suspension

Prior convictions also increase the length of the suspension period if you are traveling over a certain mph. For instance, any driver with two prior convictions within a 12-month period going more than 55 mph can have their license suspended for up to six months.